A+ A-

News & Events

Affiliated with the University of MelbourneUniversity of Melbourne Logo

CERA welcomes new Associate Professors

image-tools (59)The Centre for Eye Research Australia (CERA) congratulates honorary research fellows Dr Michael Coote and Dr Salmaan Qureshi (right) on being appointed as Associate Professors (Honorary) at the University of Melbourne.

Associate Professor Michael Coote is a clinical ophthalmologist with a long-standing research interest in glaucoma management, particularly surgery. He is the Clinical Director of Ophthalmology at the Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital and a Board member of Mercy Health.

At CERA, Associate Professor Coote has led the development of innovative models of glaucoma surgery research and new implants to manage glaucoma. He has also developed the Glaucoma Optic Neuropathy Evaluation system, which is a live and online system to train people all around the world in glaucoma optic nerve head evaluation.

Associate Professor Salmaan Qureshi (right) is Co-Editor in Chief of ‘Clinical and Experimental Ophthalmology’, a Fellow at the Centre for Eye Research Australia (and the University of Melbourne) and Senior Consultant Ophthalmologist at the Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital. His current area of research is the role of lipids and retinal vascular calibre in the pathogenesis of retinal vascular disease.

Over the last 10 years, Associate Professor Qureshi has been involved in the clinical testing and development of the new generation of anti-VEGF treatments that are now central to the management of retinal disease including Macugen, Lucentis and Avastin. He is also the author of the “Interactive Atlas of Retinal Disease” for the Apple iPad and iPhone.

Associate Professor Quereshi has an active role in the selection and training of ophthalmology registrars in Victoria.

Professor Jonathan Crowston, Head of the University of Melbourne’s Department of Ophthalmology, welcomed the appointments.

“Michael Coote and Salmaan Qureshi have provided a significant and enduring contribution to ophthalmology in Victoria and I am delighted to congratulate them on this worthy recognition,” he said.