A+ A-
Saving sight. Changing lives.

CERA Profile – Dr Cathy McCarty

Then: Honorary Principal Fellow (1993 to 2001)

Now: Principal Research Fellow at Essentia Institute of Rural Health

Affiliated with the University of MelbourneUniversity of Melbourne Logo

Questions:

1. Tell us about your current position.

I am a Principal Research Scientist at Essentia Health, a large integrated health care provider operating in primarily rural areas in five US states.

2. What do you enjoy most about your current job

I love the variety. I am regularly asked to consult in clinical areas where I have little or no previous research experience so I am always learning.

3. How different is the work you are doing today compared to that you were doing at CERA?

While at CERA, most of my research was focussed on discovery. I have moved more recently into translational research – trying to implement research discoveries in health care systems.

4. How has your time at CERA impacted on your career and what you’re working on today?

My position at CERA was my first job out of graduate school with a PhD in epidemiology and biostatistics. I had no research experience in ophthalmic epidemiology prior to joining CERA. Ophthalmic Epidemiology will be a major component of my research portfolio until I retire because of my time at CERA. I am currently conducting a pilot study of genomic medicine in people with a family history of AMD.

5. What work were you doing at CERA?

I was the Head of the Epidemiology Research Unit and the Principal Investigator for Visual Impairment Project.

6. Do you have any memorable anecdotes you might be happy to share?

There are so many! Here are a few.

Does anyone remember the collection of snow globes that grew every time some travelled to someplace new and brought one back for display in the lunch room?